Like a madwoman

Still sticking with the DDP Yoga.  It’s not the easiest workout, but each time i do it, there is a bit of progress – i stretch a little further, reach a little higher, or feel a little stronger.  It was just over two weeks ago i tried it and couldn’t stay in the lunges without going to a knee.  I am wobbly now, but am staying up.  A lot of folks who stick with it seem to have similar results, so hopefully its a trend that continues.

Last night i tried a new recipe, Spicy Peanut Tofu Rice Salad + Twirl of Avocado, from Lunch Box Bunch.  Mine was sort of a mashed up avocado, rather than a twirl, but it was very delicious!  I enjoyed it for lunch again today in fact.  The recipe allowed me to use the last of the peanut butter sitting in the fridge, which helps remove a temptation.  Peanut butter & jelly is totally a comfort food, and while it isn’t bad for me, it isn’t really great either.  

Right now i’m trying to avoid comfort foods and work though some of those feelings that food will make me feel better.  Food does soothe me, but not for long, and so it isn’t the healthiest coping strategy.  I want a good relationship with food, not a cycle of binge and guilt!

Also from Lunch Box Bunch, i tried their Hot Pumpkin Mug.  It wasn’t my favorite, but i’m glad i tried it!

I also did all the prep to have beef stew ready when i get home from work today, thank you crock pot!  We’re having friends over to hand out Halloween candy and play with the nephew (niece is still too little to do much more than sleep, nurse and occasionally wiggle!).  I wanted something hearty, yummy and easy, so beef stew won.  It’s also a meal the husband enjoys, and it’s familiar, which is important to him right now as he works through his own food issues.

Because it is Halloween, i also made some pumpkin bread, which got rave reviews at the office. I haven’t tried it yet! but will tonight.  I made a double batch to have enough for me and my friends, and still make sure everyone at the office got some too.

AND i carved jack-o-lanterns last night.  

Yesterday was a very long day, but it felt good to be so productive.  I am strong enough to do a lot of things, and i am capable of accomplishing a lot.  I need to remember this next time i don’t think i can manage sweeping the floor or putting things away!

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

